State And Local Officials Are Applying Supreme Court Same-Sex Marriage News Differently


This morning's stunning and historic announcement from the U.S. Supreme Court is being applied differently by officials in different states.

Just an hour ago the U.S. Supreme Court officially declined to hear any of the seven same-sex marriage cases in five states which were being appealed from lower court rulings. All those lower rulings from appeals courts supported same-sex couples, and now, same-sex marriage will be legal in not just those five states, but in eleven more states, bringing the number to 30.

But different state officials are applying the high court's decision differently.

LOOK: Long View: Why SCOTUS' Same-Sex Marriage Decision Was Only Proper Option

In Virginia, where the State -- after Democratic Governor Terry McAuliffe  and Attorney General Mark Herring were elected -- declined to defend the marriage ban in court, same-sex marriages will begin "later today," AG Herring announced.

In Milwaukee, Wisconsin, the Dane County Clerk just said he will begin issuing marriage licenses immediately to same-sex couples. Clerks in Outagamie County and Winnebago County are reportedly going to begin issuing licenses as well.  

"In light of the action by the United States Supreme Court," Gov. Scott Walker's office states, "Wisconsin will uphold the law as set by the federal Court of Appeals."

In Oklahoma, which is one of the states from which the Supreme Court specifically denied to hear a case, "Oklahoma County Court Clerk Tim Rhodes says his office won't issue licenses until a stay is lifted by the 10th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals," the AP reports.

LOOK: The Same-Sex Marriage Map Just Changed Dramatically - Here's What It Looks Like

Fortunately, the 10th Circuit wasted no time whatsoever, paving the way for marriages in Utah, along with Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Wyoming, to legally begin.

And the first same-sex couple to marry in Utah rejoiced:

Despite that news, the Utah County Clerk says they're not issuing marriage licenses yet:

But the Salt Lake County clerk is:

In Indiana, the Monroe County Chief Deputy Clerk is waiting for the county attorney to review the Court's announcement to begin issuing licenses, assuming the attorney gives the green light. Indiana is one of the states the Supreme Court declined cases from.

And the Elkhart County, Indiana county clerk is also refusing to issue licenses until they have clear legal direction.

"We'll be contacting our attorney for determination on how this affects what we do with issuing licenses and the standing of licenses already issued," the Elkhart Truth reports. "We need a legal opinion of where we stand and what we can do based on this ruling."

In Colorado, the Boulder County Clerk made this announcement:

And, more updates:

Meanwhile, LGBT and civil rights groups across the nation are filing suit to have marriage bans removed, after today's Supreme Court announcement.


Editor's Note: This is a fast-moving story and details may change quickly.

Image by Fibonacci Blue via Flickr

Don't let Silicon Valley control what you read. Get more stories like this in your inbox each day.

* indicates required

See a mistake? Email corrections to: [email protected]